Football 3 years ago

Harnwell quits Glory over W-League snub

  • Harnwell quits Glory over W-League snub

Perth Glory legend Jamie Harnwell has bitterly split from the club, saying he's had enough of being treated poorly.

The former championship-winning striker reacted angrily when required to reapply for his job as coach of the women's team despite leading them to the W-League Premier's Plate and grand final this year.

Glory last week took control of the W-League team, previously run by Football West, and opted to advertise the head coach position on their website.

You might also like

Harnwell chose not to go through the rehiring process, telling The West Australian newspaper the decision had dampened his passion for the club, and was a "kick in the guts".

He was coach of the W-League team for four seasons and they set a W-League points record last season before losing to Canberra United 3-1 in the grand final.

A Perth Glory spokesperson said the decision to advertise was a matter of process resulting from the W-League team's change of ownership and expiration of Harnwell's contract.

He said the first indication the club received of Harnwell's disgruntlement was when the story appeared on Wednesday morning.

Harnwell disputed that and believed his criticism of the club's 2014-15 salary cap breach was the motivating factor behind his non-extension.

"Certain people in the club certainly knew how disappointed I was," he said. "I was informed by certain people I'd struggle to retain the position given the criticisms of the club I've made in the last season due to the salary cap."

Those criticisms relate to an interview Harnwell conducted with Fox Sports on April 10, in which he stated it was "very difficult to find a huge amount of sympathy for the club" after their wage bill exceeded the $2.55 million limit by over $400,000.

He said to Fox Sports the breach and subsequent ejection from the A-League finals series would "put a lot of people off the club again."

Harnwell made a record 256 appearances for Perth Glory in both NSL and A-League competitions.

0 0
please wait...